Skip to content

Who we are

We work with Vale of White Horse District Council to provide cost-effective services for our residents. We employ around 450 people, most of whom are based at our offices at 135 Eastern Avenue, Milton Park, Milton, OX14 4SB.

There are 36 elected councillors. You can read more about your councillors and how they make decisions on how the council is run in our Local Democracy webpages.

Each year, our Council Leader appoints a Chair of the Council – this is a non-political role that involves chairing meetings and representing the council at community events. Find out more information on our Chair here.

The council’s Chief Executive is Mark Stone (also Electoral Registration Officer and Returning Officer).

The council’s Deputy Chief Executive’s are:

  • Andrew Down – Partnerships and 5 Councils Partnership Commercial Director
  • Adrianna Partridge – Transformation and Operations
  • Suzanne Malcolm – Place


Our services are divided into the following areas:

Development and Corporate Landlord

Interim Head of department: James Carpenter

Housing and Environment

Head of department: Liz Hayden (also Designated Safeguarding Lead)


Head of department: Adrian Duffield

Corporate services

Head of department: Adrianna Partridge


Head of department: Simon Hewings (also Section 151 Officer)

Legal and democratic

Head of department: Patrick Arran (also Monitoring Officer)

Policy and Programmes

Head of department: Harry Barrington-Mountford


Head of department: Andrew Down

  • Growth deal
  • Oxfordshire councils
  • 5 Councils
  • Oxford Cambridge corridor
  • LEP
  • Enterprise zones

Chief Executive

If you have a matter that cannot be dealt with by the relevant team or Head of Department, or you feel you need to escalate it to our Chief Executive Mark Stone, you can do so by emailing or by calling 01235 422100.


To see job opportunities at the council please see our current vacancies page.

Trade Union facility time

We are required to publish this data on the amount and spend of facility time in respect of staff who are Trade Union representatives


South Oxfordshire District Council’s Constitution sets out how the council operates, how decisions are made and the procedures the council follows to ensure that these are efficient, transparent and accountable to local people.  Some of these processes are required by the law, while others are a matter for the council to choose.

Where you live

To find out more about South Oxfordshire and where you live, you can click on the information about your area section of our home page or for more detail about the district you can head to our where I live page

Contact us - Customer services

01235 422422
(Text phone users add 18001 before dialing)

South Oxfordshire District Council
135 Eastern Avenue
Milton Park
OX14 4SB