A district council

As a district council we collect council tax and use around 10 per cent of what we collect to help pay for these services, such as:

  • weekly food waste collections
  • fortnightly recycling and residual waste collections
  • modern leisure facilities
  • rigorous restaurant and takeaway inspections
  • regular street cleaning and dealing with fly tipping
  • planning services
  • housing services
  • on behalf of the government, we pay out a wide range of benefits

To the average person on the street, the structure of local government can be quite bewildering. In an ideal world, public services would be provided by one organisation, but the reality is much more complicated!

There are various types of council:

  • Parish
  • Town
  • District
  • Borough
  • County
  • Unitary

Although these may have overlapping geographical boundaries, they each have their distinct areas of responsibility in the provision of services. In Oxfordshire we have three tiers, county, district and parish or town councils.

Find out what we don’t do and about the services offered by the county council, town and parish councils and Thames Valley Police.

Last reviewed: 06 - 12 - 2018

Was this page helpful?YesNo