How we make decisions

Politics, political structures and decision making

The council has a Cabinet and Leader management structure. The current structure comprises the cabinet, two overview and scrutiny committees, a planning committee dealing with development control, a licensing and general purposes committee, a Licensing Act committee, a Climate Emergency Advisory Committee and a standards committee. 

The council's Constitution contains full details, including terms of reference for all committees.  An extensive scheme of delegation ensures that officers have delegated authority to decide a wide range of matters.  The scheme separates policy issues, which are the province of councillors, from operational issues.  Individual cabinet members also have certain delegated powers, and this helps to improve efficiency further.

Matters to be considered at meetings are set out in an agenda which is published 5 days before the meeting. Copies of the agenda and reports are available online, on request and at the meeting.

Political background

There are 36 councillors directing the work of the council, elected by the voters of South Oxfordshire. Our elections are held every four years. Each councillor represents a ward in South Oxfordshire.

Last reviewed: 12 - 12 - 2019

Was this page helpful?YesNo