Skip to content


This committee is chaired by the leader of the council who selects eight cabinet members from their ruling group. Each cabinet member represents a different council department.

The Cabinet reviews reports prepared by council staff working with the cabinet member who represents them. The report recommends a decision on an important subject, and the Cabinet debates and votes on it in a public meeting.

Cabinet members can make decisions on less important subjects themselves – we call this an Individual Cabinet Member Decision.

We publish all decisions made by the Cabinet, and all Individual Cabinet Member Decisions on our democratic pages.

See our calendar for the dates of all of our Cabinet meetings. Five working days before a meeting, we will publish the reports the Cabinet is reviewing. You can find these reports on the calendar.

Cabinet Members and the areas they represent

Cllr Sue Cooper (Cabinet Chair) – Leader of the Council and Cabinet Member for Legal and Democratic:

  • Elections
  • Democratic Services
  • Legal Services
  • Land Charges
  • Lead on the Climate Emergency
  • Oxfordshire Growth Board
  • Oxford-Cambridge Arc
  • Five Councils Partnership

Cllr Robin Bennett (Cabinet Vice-Chair) – Deputy Leader, Cabinet Member for Economic Development and Regeneration:

  • Economic Development
  • Property
  • CIL spending
  • Infrastructure & Development
  • Berinsfield Garden Village
  • Oxfordshire Growth Board – Housing

Cllr Maggie Filipova-Rivers (Cabinet Vice-Chair) – Deputy Leader, Cabinet Member for Community Services:

  • Leisure and Active Communities
  • Community Centres
  • Arts Development
  • Cornerstone
  • Community Grants
  • Health and Wellbeing
  • Diversity & Inclusion
  • Covid-19 Community Hub

Cllr Pieter-Paul Barker – Cabinet Member for Partnerships:

  • Five Councils Partnership
  • Enterprise Zones
  • Science Vale
  • Oxfordshire Local Enterprise Partnership (OxLep) – attendance at meetings delegated to Cllr Sue Roberts, Chair of CEAC
  • Housing and Growth Deal – Infrastructure

Cllr Andrea Powell – Cabinet Member for Corporate Services:

  • Communications
  • Community Engagement & Consultation
  • Customer Services
  • Complaints
  • Data Protection and Freedom of Information
  • Health and Safety
  • HR and Payroll
  • IT
  • Insight & Policy
  • Corporate Plan

Cllr Leigh Rawlins – Cabinet Member for Finance:

  • Strategic Finance and Financial Management
  • Procurement
  • Revenues & Benefits, including Council Tax, Benefits and Business Rates
  • Audit

Cllr David Rouane – Cabinet Member for Housing and Environment and Didcot Garden Town:

  • Licensing
  • Community Safety, including Safe Oxfordshire and South and Vale Community Safety partnerships
  • CCTV
  • Housing
  • Disabled Facilities Grants
  • Environmental Protection
  • Waste, Litter & Street Cleaning
  • Food Safety
  • Car Parks
  • Grounds & Parks Maintenance
  • Mobile Home Parks
  • Public Toilets
  • Cemeteries
  • Engineering Services, including sewerage, flooding and drainage

Cllr Anne-Marie Simpson – Cabinet Member for Planning:

  • Planning Policy
  • S106 and CIL policy
  • Local Plan
  • Neighbourhood and Community Led Planning
  • Transport Infrastructure
  • Planning Applications
  • Planning Enforcement
  • Building Control
  • Trees, Landscaping, Conservation & Listed Buildings
  • Oxfordshire Growth Board – Oxfordshire Plan 2050

Find out who has to make decisions on what in our Constitution.

Contact us - Democratic services

Phone icon

01235 422520
(Text phone users add 18001 before dialing)

Address icon

South Oxfordshire District Council
135 Eastern Avenue
Milton Park
OX14 4SB