South Oxfordshire District Council appoints new leader

Released on April 19, 2018

Cllr Jane Murphy is the new Leader of South Oxfordshire District Council.

She was appointed at a meeting of the full Council last night (19 April) and takes over from Cllr John Cotton, who had been leader since October 2014.
Cllr Murphy was elected in 2015 as ward member for Cholsey and was Didcot Northbourne ward councillor from 2007 to 2011. She has served as Deputy Leader; cabinet member for Finance, Legal and Democratic Services, and Community Safety; and was Scrutiny Committee Chairman.
Cllr Murphy said she wished to thank Cllr Cotton for his work as council leader and added: “I feel very privileged to have been chosen to lead South Oxfordshire District Council and it will be an honour to serve the district I love.
"There’s no question that there are challenges ahead, with important decisions to be made, but I am looking forward to getting to work. I’ll do my best, alongside the Cabinet and by working with all councillors, to serve South Oxfordshire and everyone who lives and works here."
Cllr Murphy appointed the council’s Cabinet at yesterday’s meeting and appointed Cllr Felix Bloomfield as her Deputy Leader.
The new Cabinet responsibilities are:
  • Development and Regeneration - Paul Harrison
  • Housing and Environment - Caroline Newton
  • Community Services - Lynn Lloyd
  • Planning - Felix Bloomfield
  • Corporate Services - Kevin Bulmer
  • Communications - Jane Murphy
  • Finance - David Dodds
  • Legal and Democratic - Anna Badcock
  • Partnership and Insight - Bill Service

Notes to editors
Yesterday’s full Council meeting took place at The Fountain Conference Centre, Howberry Park, Crowmarsh Gifford.