Towns and villages urged to apply for project funding before scheme closes

Released on July 13, 2015

Market towns and larger villages in South Oxfordshire have just four months left to make their claim for a share of money made available to support local infrastructure projects.

The £150,000 Town and Village Infrastructure Fund available from South Oxfordshire District Council since 2013 will come to an end this December.

So far 22 applications have been approved ranging in value from £700 to just under £17,000 to support free Wi-Fi in town centres; street decorations, banners and flags to support local festivals; Christmas lighting; equipment banks; new tourism information boards and improvements to theatre balcony and seating.

All applications need to receive match funding from sources such as town and parish councils, business partnerships or the lottery, and are measured against how their proposal fits with the council’s strategic objective of ‘building the local economy’ and corporate priority of ‘investing to improve the viability and attractiveness of our towns’.

Applications for the final allocation of capital funding must be submitted by 1 December 2015.  Decisions on which capital schemes will be approved will be taken by March 2016.

Cllr Robert Simister, Cabinet Member for Economic Development at South Oxfordshire District Council, said: “This is a great opportunity for our market towns and larger villages to claim the funding they need to help improve their local infrastructure.  Maybe they could do with some new and improved signage or buy some equipment to support local events.  This funding will be a great help, but you have to be quick as it’s only there until December.”

For full terms and conditions and an application form please contact Helen Harvey, Economic Development Officer on 01235 540390 or email via

Towns able to apply for this funding are:

  • Henley
  • Thame
  • Wallingford


  • Berinsfield
  • Benson
  • Chalgrove
  • Chinnor
  • Cholsey
  • Crowmarsh Gifford
  • Goring
  • Nettlebed
  • Sonning Common
  • Watlington
  • Wheatley
  • Woodcote